boxXshop 2013 is calling for designers & makers!

collage boxxshop

image shows boxXshop’s first editon in 2011

After two successful editions, boxXshop will be launched again at Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam! Do you have unique handmade gifts for sale? Register a box today.

What is boxXshop?

The concept of boxXshop is to create a mini show windows for start up designers and makers, especially for those who are just about to test the market. It’s proofed to be a highly interactive pop up shop where participants and visitors meet and connect to each other.
boxXshop is a temporary installation, constructed of the boxes of Lloyd Hotel’s library.

When and where?

Thursday evening from 6pm-9pm, November 28, 2013 at Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam.

What can you sell?

1. Your own handmade arts & crafts & food…etc.
2. Delicate and affordable products under the price of 50 euro.
3. Unique gifts for the holiday season.
4. Objects that are no larger than the box: width 68 cm – length 35 cm – depth 37.5 cm

How does your boxXshop look like?

It is a multiplex-framed box: width 68 cm – length 35 cm – depth 37.5 cm

How to participate?

You can rent a box to become one of the boxXshop owner. Rent one box is 25 euro (price excl. btw).

This will include:
1. Shop space – beautiful multiplex-made box.
2. Publicity – you can expose your work at a great location.
3. PR – boxXshop was promoted by Etsy, Dutchhandmade, Lloyd Hotel & 101 woonideeen, strawberry earth and the participants last year.
4. Network – you will meet other like-minded designers and makers.

How about the insurance?

All the damages will be at the participants’ own risk.

How many boxes are available for rent?

There are 25 boxes available for rent.

How to participate?

Please email with your name, contact info and few pictures of your work to Eliane Roest. After reviewing your work, we will react to you and provide you further information.

***The registration will be closed 16th of november 2013.***

Lloyd HotelboxXshop is a collaboration between Lloyd hotel & cultural embassy and Nest Project. This year Eliane Roest is joining force to organize this event. Join our event page and spread the CALL to your friends please 🙂

6 thoughts on “boxXshop 2013 is calling for designers & makers!

  1. I already participated in 2 editions of the boxXshop and I am happy to be a part of the third edition as a collaborator to the Nest Project. I met so many creative and interesting people through the boxXshop that I can recommend it to any starting crafters out there. Join the boxXshop event and you won’t be sorry!

  2. I joined the BoxXshop last year and am very enthousiastic about the concept. I sold quite a lot of work and had a great night with inspirational people. I’m really sorry I can’t make it this year! Good luck on this year’s edition, Changfang and Eliane. Hopefully I’ll be able to join in next year.

  3. I participated in the BoxXshop last year with my brand new jewellery line called El Diamante. It’s been so far the best craft and collaborative event where I’ve participated in Amsterdam, not only I sold very well, but I met really nice people and crafters with great work. I still meet and collaborate with many of them till now. Every participant involved had hand-made work: jewellery, ceramics, textiles, illustration, food, Xmas decorations, and more! I particularly loved the Lloyd Hotel spirit, a perfect host for the BoxXshop. I recommend this event to those creators willing to portray their work on very special event, in my opinion a one-of-a-kind in Amsterdam. I’ll be there in 2013 again with El Diamante and maybe a mini Xmas tree worshop. Join us!

  4. I would have loved to be there this year, but unfortunately can’t be. It was such fun last year and I”m still in touch with all the lovely people I met. Hope to be joining in again next year!

  5. Join this year’s BoxXhop if you are an ambitious, social and fun loving designer (or chef). Lloyd Hotel and BoxXhop complement each other fabulously! Not only do I highly recommend showing your work in a special setting like this, I also encourage you to actively reach out to your audience and fellow BoxXhoppers. When I participated last year I could not have dreamed to meet so many like-minded people! Most of them I still speak regularly, concerning design or just having a nice personal chat. Enriching experiences in many ways!

  6. I like the Boxshop project ever since it was merely a sketch inside of Changfang’s notebook. There are many aspects of the project that appeal to me. It promotes imagination, handwork, craftsmanship, do-it-yourself, low budget, re-use of existing Lloyd Hotel furniture and offline interaction between friends, makers and buyers…
    Independently on what you want to sell it is a rewarding challenge to join the Boxshop..

Leave a Reply

